
Pick Ashby if you are a fast growing company that wants ATS, CRM, scheduling and deep analytics in one product, and you want to see a price before you talk to sales. Pick Greenhouse if you hire at scale across many teams, need structured hiring and compliance controls, and rely on a big integrations marketplace. Ashby publishes one price: $400 a month on Foundations for companies up to 100 employees, with 10% off for an annual commitment. Greenhouse publishes no prices for Core, Plus or Pro, and Vendr’s buyer data puts the median Greenhouse contract at $26,570 a year.
Prices and features checked on each vendor’s own site on 19 October 2026. Neither vendor paid for or reviewed this article.
What is the difference between Ashby and Greenhouse?
Both are applicant tracking systems for in house talent teams, not staffing agencies. The real difference is how much each one does inside a single product.
Ashby is the all in one option. It bundles the ATS, a sourcing CRM, interview scheduling and an analytics layer into one product. Ashby says it has over 4,000 active customers and calls itself the fastest growing ATS.
Greenhouse is the established option. It is built around structured hiring: every role gets a defined interview plan, interview kits and scorecards, so candidates are judged on the same criteria. The Greenhouse homepage says more than 7,500 companies use it.
If you are still deciding whether you need an ATS, a recruiting CRM or both, our guide to ATS vs CRM covers that first.
How do Ashby and Greenhouse compare side by side?
This table uses each vendor’s pricing page and product pages. Where a fact comes only from one vendor’s marketing, we say so.
| Feature | Ashby | Greenhouse |
|---|---|---|
| Built for | Startups and scaling companies that want one tool | Mid market and enterprise teams that want structured hiring |
| Plans | Foundations, Plus, Enterprise | Core, Plus, Pro |
| Published price | $400 a month on Foundations (up to 100 employees) | None; every plan is quote only |
| Pricing model | Company size, usage and commitment | Plan, hiring volume and organizational complexity |
| Sourcing and CRM | Included on every plan | Included from Core; sourcing automation on Plus |
| Scheduling | Built in; AI auto scheduling is an add on or Enterprise | Scheduling included on Core |
| Analytics | Report builder, dashboards, alerts, forecasting | Reporting on Core; BI connector on Plus |
| AI notetaker | Paid add on on every plan | Listed in Core |
| SSO | $100 a month add on on Foundations | Listed in Core |
| Integrations | 250+ claimed | 450+ claimed, 513 in the directory |
| MCP server | Yes | Yes |
| G2 rating | 4.7 from 207 reviews | 4.4 from 4,035 reviews |
G2 figures are from 100Hires’ comparison on 12 October 2026. Greenhouse’s score rests on about 20 times more reviews.
How much do Ashby and Greenhouse cost in 2026?
Ashby shows a price for its entry plan. Greenhouse shows none. Here is everything each vendor publishes.
| Plan | Company size | Published price | Notable inclusions |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ashby Foundations | Up to 100 employees | $400 a month; 10% off with an annual commitment | 200 email lookups a month, 1,000 SMS a month, 1,500 AI credits a month, 1 offer template |
| Ashby Plus | 101 to 1,000 employees | Quote only | Up to 5 brands, 3 custom roles, unlimited dashboards and alerts, per seat SMS and AI credits |
| Ashby Enterprise | 1,000+ employees | Quote only | Unlimited brands and roles, 12,500 AI credits per seat a year |
| Ashby Analytics | 100+ employees, on another ATS | Quote only, based on usage | Ashby reporting on top of your current ATS |
| Greenhouse Core | Not stated | Quote only | Sourcing and CRM, scorecards, AI notetaker, scheduling, reporting, SSO |
| Greenhouse Plus | Not stated | Quote only | Adds AI report filters, BI connector, sourcing automation, texting |
| Greenhouse Pro | Not stated | Quote only | Adds unlimited CRM events, audit log, developer sandbox |
Check both before you budget: the Ashby pricing page and the Greenhouse pricing page. Greenhouse’s FAQ says pricing is “customized based on your company’s hiring needs.” Ashby adds extra SMS at $90 per 1,000 and offers emerging market pricing.
What do companies actually pay for Greenhouse?
The best independent figure is from Vendr, which tracks real purchase contracts. Its Greenhouse buyer data shows a median of $26,570 a year across 884 purchases, with a range from $10,207 to $74,330.
For the same comparison on Ashby, Vendr’s Ashby buyer data shows a median of $21,100 a year across 164 purchases, with a range from $8,481 to $114,792. That sample is smaller and mixes all three plans.
One vendor of screening software, Truffle, has published a Greenhouse pricing breakdown from buyer reports: roughly $6,000 to $12,000 a year under 100 employees, $10,000 to $25,000 for 100 to 500 employees, and $20,000 to $70,000 or more above that. It reports implementation fees of $1,000 to $15,000. Use these to sanity check a quote, not replace one.
What does each one cost per year by company size?
This is a Work Insiders calculation. Ashby rows use the published Foundations price. Greenhouse rows add Truffle’s reported subscription range to its reported implementation range, because Greenhouse publishes nothing. Above 100 employees, both are quote only, so we show Vendr’s medians.
| Company size | Ashby first year | Greenhouse first year | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Up to 100, monthly billing | $4,800 ($400 x 12) | Not offered monthly, per Truffle | Ashby published price |
| Up to 100, annual billing | $4,320 ($360 x 12) | $7,000 to $17,000 | Ashby price less 10%; Greenhouse $6,000 to $12,000 plus $1,000 to $5,000 setup |
| Up to 100, annual, with SSO | $5,520 ($4,320 + $1,200) | $7,000 to $17,000 (SSO listed in Core) | Ashby SSO add on at $100 a month |
| 100 to 500 | Quote (Plus) | $11,000 to $40,000 | Greenhouse $10,000 to $25,000 plus $1,000 to $15,000 setup |
| Any size, median contract | $21,100 | $26,570 | Vendr buyer data |
Below 100 employees, Ashby is cheaper and more predictable. Above that, both need a quote, and the Vendr medians are close enough that negotiation matters more than the list.
What pricing gotchas should you watch for?
- Both price on company headcount, not recruiter seats. Your bill can rise when the company grows, even if hiring stays flat. Ask for a headcount buffer before you sign.
- Ashby Foundations stops at 100 employees. Crossing that line moves you to Plus, which is quote only.
- Ashby’s own comparison page mentions “seat based pricing,” while its pricing page says Plus is priced on company size, usage and commitment. Ask which one applies to you.
- Ashby’s AI notetaker and extra email lookups are paid add ons on every plan, and SSO costs $100 a month on Foundations. Greenhouse lists both the notetaker and SSO in Core.
- Ashby’s AI credits are monthly on Foundations and per seat per year above it. Truffle reports unused credits do not roll over.
- Greenhouse sells its Real Talent fraud and matching features across its tiers, and Truffle reports they are priced separately.
Which ATS has better reporting and analytics?
Ashby, for most teams. Analytics is the reason many buyers shortlist it. The Ashby analytics page describes a report builder where you filter and segment by any field, drill into each data point, set alerts by email or Slack, and forecast recruiting capacity from past data. Ashby even sells this analytics layer on its own to companies running another ATS.
Greenhouse includes reporting in Core, adds AI report filters and a Business Intelligence connector on Plus, and offers a Chart Builder that turns plain questions into charts. Ashby says Greenhouse customers often build reports in spreadsheets. That is Ashby’s claim, not a measured fact.
Is Ashby’s reporting limited on the cheapest plan?
Yes. Foundations has basic report filtering and grouping. Custom dashboards, scheduled delivery, calculated fields and custom alerts are listed on Plus and Enterprise. Confirm what Foundations shows you in the demo.
Which one is better for sourcing and candidate CRM?
Both now include a CRM, so neither forces you to buy a separate nurture tool. Ashby’s CRM sits in the same database as the ATS. Its AI features page describes AI Talent Rediscovery, which scans past candidates against a new job and groups them into buckets like silver medalists and warm leads. Ashby also writes AI personalization tokens into outreach emails and says customers see a 46% lift in reply rate. That figure is Ashby’s own.
Greenhouse includes sourcing and CRM on Core and adds Greenhouse Sourcing Automation on Plus. Its sourcing tools surface candidates with skill match levels and track prospect sentiment. Truffle reports a 10 seat sourcing automation package at about $25,000, which is more than its reported base price for a small team.
Watch Ashby’s limits: Foundations includes 200 sourcing email lookups a month, and extra lookups cost more.
How do Ashby and Greenhouse handle interview scheduling?
Ashby treats scheduling as a core feature. It offers scheduling links, direct booking and interview pools, and says it sends real calendar invites rather than attached files. The catch: AI auto scheduling and calendar holds need the Advanced Scheduling add on unless you are on Enterprise.
Greenhouse lists scheduling in Core. Teams with heavy panel scheduling often add a dedicated tool to either ATS. Our ATS compatibility checker shows which scheduling, screening and assessment tools connect to each one.
Which ATS has better AI features?
Both now run an MCP server so tools like Claude and ChatGPT can work with your hiring data. The difference is focus.
Ashby’s AI is spread across the whole product: AI assisted application review against criteria you set, an AI Candidate Assistant, feedback summaries for debriefs, an AI report builder, and the Ashby Assistant, which takes actions inside Ashby and in Slack. Ashby says it does not train models on customer data and never scores applicants.
Greenhouse’s AI is built around structured hiring. Its AI recruiting page lists Voice AI, which runs a first two way voice interview, a notetaker that maps notes to scorecard questions, automated hiring plans, resume anonymization and offer forecasting. Greenhouse holds ISO 42001 certification for AI governance and says it runs monthly bias audits with Warden AI. Some advanced AI features, such as AI report filters and resume anonymization, sit on higher tiers.
Which one connects to more tools?
Greenhouse, by a clear margin. Its integrations directory claims 450+ prebuilt integrations, and the directory filter counts 513. The Ashby integrations page claims 250+, plus an open API and Zapier.
For most growing teams, 250 covers job boards, background checks, assessments, HRIS and Slack. The gap shows up with niche assessments or regional job boards. Our ATS market statistics also show how widely each platform is used.
How long does implementation take?
Neither vendor publishes a standard timeline. G2 reviewers, as reported by 100Hires, put Ashby at about 1 month and Greenhouse at about 2 months. Ashby’s comparison page quotes a HackerOne recruiter who went live in 3 weeks, including the Workday connection. Ashby also offers contract buyouts for teams leaving another ATS.
Greenhouse’s implementation guide walks through configuration, best practices, data migration and launch. That structure suits large teams, but it is not a 2 week job.
Can you switch from Greenhouse to Ashby, or the other way?
Yes, and Ashby actively courts Greenhouse customers. It says over 125 organizations switched from Greenhouse in the last year, though the same page also shows “100+,” so treat the exact number loosely. Ashby advertises fast data imports and will buy out your remaining contract in some cases.
Whichever way you move, export candidates, jobs, scorecards and attachments before your old contract ends, rebuild interview plans rather than copying them field by field, and line up the switch with your renewal date so you do not pay for two systems.
Who should choose Ashby?
- Startups and scaling companies under 100 employees that want a published price.
- Talent teams that live in reporting and want to answer questions without exporting to spreadsheets.
- Lean teams that want ATS, CRM and scheduling in one product instead of three.
- Teams that want to go live in weeks, not months.
Who should choose Greenhouse?
- Mid market and enterprise companies with many hiring managers who need consistent interview kits and scorecards.
- Teams with strict compliance or audit needs, such as audit logs and developer sandboxes on Pro.
- Teams that depend on niche integrations from a large marketplace.
- Buyers who want SSO and an AI notetaker in the base plan rather than as add ons.
What are the best alternatives to Ashby and Greenhouse?
If neither fits your budget or size, these ATS options cover the same ground. Each listing has current pricing.
| Tool | What it does differently | Best for |
|---|---|---|
| ATS and CRM in one, with strong nurture and referrals | Teams that buy for candidate relationships | |
| Sourcing, assessments and ATS with published pricing | Small teams that find Ashby too expensive | |
| Modern ATS for in house teams with an MCP server | UK and EU talent teams | |
| AI first ATS with scoring and outreach | SMB teams hiring on a tight budget |
See the full ATS software category for every tool we list, or our page of Greenhouse alternatives.
How should you trial both before you sign?
Neither lists a self serve free trial, so the demo is your trial. Book both in the same week and bring one real role. Ask each vendor to build that role live, schedule a 4 person panel, and pull a pass through report by source and hiring manager.
Then ask for a written quote at today’s headcount and at your planned headcount 12 months out, with add ons and implementation listed. Score each on the live build, the report and the total first year cost.
Quick answers
Is Ashby cheaper than Greenhouse?
Under 100 employees, usually yes. Ashby Foundations is $4,320 a year on annual billing, while buyer reports put Greenhouse Core at $6,000 to $12,000 plus setup. Above 100 employees both are quote only, and Vendr’s medians are close: $21,100 for Ashby and $26,570 for Greenhouse.
Does Greenhouse publish its prices?
No. Greenhouse lists Core, Plus and Pro with features only. Every plan needs a demo and a custom quote based on hiring volume, complexity and features.
Is Ashby only for startups?
No. Ashby has Plus for 101 to 1,000 employees and Enterprise above that. It is strongest with fast growing tech companies, and very large enterprises often still shortlist Greenhouse for its compliance tools and marketplace.
Do Ashby and Greenhouse have MCP servers?
Yes, both do. Each lets AI tools like Claude and ChatGPT work with your hiring data. Ashby says its server can summarize a pipeline or move a candidate.
Which has more integrations?
Greenhouse claims 450+ integrations and its directory counts 513. Ashby claims 250+, plus an open API and Zapier.
Does either charge per recruiter?
Both price mainly on company size, so cost rises as headcount grows. Some Ashby allowances, such as SMS and AI credits on Plus and Enterprise, are counted per seat.
Free newsletter
Get the Work Insiders weekly
One email a week: the recruiting and HR tech news that mattered, the tools we just added to the directory, and one practical guide. No spam, and you can unsubscribe in one click.
